Municipal Court

The Municipal Court provides Citizens fair efficient and courteous judicial processing of citations.  Municipal court handles traffic offenses, parking citations and non-traffic offenses relating to Animal Control issues and Code Enforcement.

 A 24 hour drop box is located in front of the City of Hutchins Municipal building to receive after hour payments.  DO NOT include cash; write the citation number on your check or money order.

 

Click Here for a list of the monthly Appointments and Fees

  • General Information

    Your citation is due 21 days from the date the citation was issued. The dates are located at the top of your citation. Please allow at least 48 hours for your citation to be filed with the court before information can be given.  Juveniles must appear in court with a parent or guardian - you will be mailed a court date. You must notify the court either in person or in writing your intentions on your citations.

    PHONE CALLS DO NOT CONSTITUTE APPEARANCE.


    Failure to respond to your citation within 21 days from the date the citation was issued may result in a:

    • Warrant for your arrest and an additional $50 fee will be assessed
    • Separate charge filed for Fail to Appear or Violate Promise to Appear
    • Sent to a collection agency and additional fees added to your case.

     
    If you feel you are NOT GUILTY and desire a trial you may request a court date by filling out the “Requesting a Court Date form” (see Forms) and mailing it to the court on or before your appearance date or you may appear in person during business hours.  You will be notified by mail when to appear for your court date. If your address is different from the one listed on your citation, please, provide the court with your correct address.

     

  • Helpful Contacts

    TX Department of Public Safety                                469-272-9301

    116 W. Beltline Rd., STE 2

    Cedar Hill, TX 75104

    www.dps.texas.gov

     

    Vehicle Registration                                      469-272-9301

    100 E. Wheatland Rd.

    Duncanville, TX 75116

    www.dallascounty.org

     

    Hutchins City Jail                                             972-225-2225

    205 W. Hickman

    Hutchins, TX 75141

    www.hutchinspd.org

     

    Vehicle Impound/Prasifika Wrecker      972-225-1636

    2012 South IH-45

    Hutchins, TX 75141

     

    Hutchins State Jail                                          972-225-1304

    1500 E. Langdon Rd.

    Dallas, TX 75241

     

    Justice of the Peace Court 1-2                    972-228-2272

    107 Texas St.

    Lancaster, TX 75146

    Judge Valencia Nash

     

    Dallas County District Attorney                 214-653-3600

    133 N. Riverfront Blvd., LB 19

    Dallas, TX 75207

     

    Surcharge Information                                  1-800-688-6882

                  www.txsurchargeonline.com

     

    Texas Dept. of Transportation                   www.txdot.gov

     

    Attorney General of Texas                          www.texasattorneygeneral.gov

     

    Birth & Death Certificates                           214-653-7099

     

    Marriage License                                             214-653-6078

     

     

  • Court Appearance

    Appearance Dates

    The law requires you appear in court on your case. The appearance dates vary by the nature of the action. 

    • Citations: 21 days from the date of violation.
    • Released on Bond: Appearance date is either on the bond or mailed to address on the bond.
    • Complaint Filed: Notified by mail of appearance date


    Appearances Requirements

    You and your attorney, if you have retained an attorney, must appear in person in open court, by mail, or you may make an appearance in person at the court facility, located in 321 N. Main St., Hutchins, TX 75141.

    You are not required to retain an attorney. Picture identification will be required (state issued ID or Driver’s License is acceptable). Attorneys will be required to present their state issued Bar Card, in addition to a picture ID.

    An appearance in writing must be received by your appearance date. (See Juveniles for specific requirements for defendants under 17 years of age).

     


    Plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendere - Waive a Trial by Jury
    If you waive a jury trial and plead guilty or nolo contendere (meaning no contest), you will be scheduled to appear for a Plea Docket. At that hearing you will be able to discuss with the judge any extenuating circumstances you want the judge to consider when setting your fine. The judge is not required to reduce your fine.

    Plea of Not Guilty - Waive Trial by Jury
    If you plead not guilty and waive your right to a jury trial, you will be scheduled for a trial before the judge. Please note that you will first have to attend a Pre-Trial hearing to speak with the city prosecutor before your trial date.

    Plea of Not Guilty - Do No Waive Trial by Jury
    If you plead not guilty and do not waive your right to a jury trial, you will be scheduled for a jury trial.  Please note that you will first have to attend a Pre-Trial hearing to speak with the city prosecutor before your jury trial date.

  • Juveniles

    Jurisdiction
    The Municipal Court has jurisdiction over juveniles (10-16 years of age) charged with Class C misdemeanor offenses.

    • Juveniles who are defined as persons who are under the age of 17
    • Minor who are defined as persons who are under the age of 21

    Court Appearances
    All juveniles are required to appear in open court for all proceedings in their cases. The parent or legal guardian of a juvenile charged in Municipal Court must be present in court with their child. 

    Failure to Appear
    Juveniles who fail to appear in court may have an additional charge of "failure to appear" filed against them. Juveniles who fail to appear or who fail to pay their fine will be reported to Department of Public Safety, which will suspend or deny issuance of a driver's license. Juveniles who disobey a court order may be found in contempt and assessed a fine not to exceed $500 or referred to juvenile court for contempt.  Parents who refuse to attend court with their child can have additional charges filed against them.

    Expunction of Records
    Convictions from this court are criminal convictions. You may be entitled to an expunction of the records in your case.

    • Alcohol Violations - For a single conviction, you may petition this court for an expunction after your 21st birthday.
    • Tobacco Violations - For Tobacco offenses, you may petition this court for expunction after successful completion of your tobacco order.
    • Penal Code or Penal Ordinance - For a single conviction of any other non-traffic violation, you may petition this court for expunction after your 17th birthday. 

    In order to request an expunction, please fill out the application for expunction and submit it to the court (see Forms). There is a non-refundable fee of $30 that will be due at the time you file your application for expunction with the court. Please read the application to determine if you are eligible to request an expunction prior to filing.  

    For Parents and Guardians - Notification of Address Change
    Warning: A child and parent required to appear before the court have an obligation to provide the court in writing with the current address and residence of the child. The obligation does not end when the child reaches age 17. On or before the seventh day after the date the child or parent changes residence, the child or parent shall notify the court of the current address in the manner directed by the court.  A violation of this subsection may result in arrest and is a class C misdemeanor. The obligation to provide notice terminates on discharge and satisfaction of the judgment or final disposition not requiring a finding of guilt.

  • Pleas

    Under our system of justice, all persons are presumed to be innocent until proven guilty. On a plea of not guilty, a formal trial is held. As in all criminal trials, the State is required to prove the guilt of a defendant "beyond a reasonable doubt" of the offense charged in the complaint before a defendant can be found guilty by a judge or jury.

    Your decision concerning which plea to enter is very important. Please consider each plea carefully before making a decision. If you plea guilty or no contest, you should be prepared to pay the fines and court costs. The court will inform you regarding fine payment requirements.

    Plea of Guilty
    A plea of guilty, you admit that you committed the act charged and that the act is prohibited by law, and that you have no defense or excuse for your act. Before entering your plea of guilty, you should understand that a plea of guilty may be used against you in a civil suit.

    For example, if there was a traffic accident, another party can say you were at fault or responsible for the accident because you plead guilty to the traffic charge.

    Plea of Nolo Contendere (No Contest)
    A plea of no contest means you do not contest the charge against you. You will almost certainly be found guilty, unless you are eligible and successfully complete a driving safety course and/or a court approved probation. A plea of nolo contendere cannot be used against you in a subsequent civil suit for damages.

    Plea of Not Guilty
    A plea of not guilty means you are informing the Court that you deny guilt or that you have a defense in your case, and that the State must prove what it has charged against you. You will need to decide whether to hire an attorney to represent you. You are not required to hire an attorney to represent you. You may represent yourself. The Court cannot give you any information on obtaining an attorney.

     

  • Fine Payments

    FINE AMOUNTS:

    Fine amounts vary with the nature of the offense.  The maximum fine amount on most traffic cases is $200, but violations of some City code provisions may be as much as $2,000 plus court cost.  To find out how much your fine(s) is contact the court at (972) 225-6121.

    HOW TO PAY YOUR FINE:When you pay your fine you are pleading “no contest” and waiving your right to a trial.  You will be found guilty and the conviction will be reported to the Department of Public Safety (if applicable).

    1. Online or over the phone

    The number to call to make your payment is 1-800-444-1187 or online at trafficpayment.com. 

    Please note:  Paying your ticket online is entering a plea of guilty.  If you wish to choose Defensive Driving or Deferred Disposition option, DO NOT PAY THROUGH THIS SYSTEM, please contact the court. 

    2. In Person

    At the Court counter we accept cash, check, Visa or MasterCard (3% fee)

    You may bring your payment to the City of Hutchins Municipal Court at:

    321 N. Main St., Hutchins, TX 75141

    3. 24 hour drop box

    You may place your payment in the drop box located at the front of the City of Hutchins Municipal building.  Write your citation number on the check or money order.  DO NOT INCLUDE CASH.

     4. My Mail

    You may mail your payment (personal check or money order only for the full amount due) to:

    City of Hutchins Municipal Court

    P.O. Box 500

    Hutchins, TX 75141

    The payment must be for the full amount due.  Write the citation number on the check or money order.  Indicate if you have an address change.  If your citation is in warrant status, the Court will not accept payment by check.

  • Driving Safety Class

    Eligibility

    If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to have your citation dismissed by taking a Driving Safety Course (DSC).  You are allowed to take DSC once a year for a ticket dismissal for most moving violations except:

    ·         Speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit or in excess of 95 mph

    ·         Leaving the scene of a collision

    ·         Passing a school bus

    ·         Any moving violation in a construction zone with workers present

     

    To be eligible to request this course you:

    ·         Must not have taken a driving safety course for a dismissal within twelve months from the date of the offense.

    ·         Must not be currently taking the course for another traffic offense.

    ·         Must not have a commercial driver’s license.

     

    Request for Driving Safety

    To request this option your request must be received or postmarked by the appearance date on your citation.  At the time of your request you must:

    ·         Enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere

    ·         Present a valid Texas driver’s license

    ·         Show proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance)

    ·         Pay court costs ($109 for most violations)

     

    Class completion time and follow up

    If you are eligible and meet all the requirements you will be granted 90 days to:

    ·         Complete a driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency.  You may choose either a traditional classroom training course or an online course. Both are 6-hour classes.

    ·         Present your certificate of completion to the court. Allow up to 2 weeks for DPS to mail the certificate to you.

    ·         Present a certified copy of your driving record. Be sure to request 3A certified from the Department of Public Safety. You may immediately print the record. (See Forms for an Application for a Copy of Driver Record)

     

    If you fail to provide the court with the required documents you will have to appear at a Show Cause Hearing before a Municipal Court Judge to explain why you have failed to comply.  If you fail to appear at the hearing, a warrant may be issued for your arrest and a conviction of the offense charged will be entered on your driving record plus additional fees.

     

    YOU MUST FIRST GET APPROVAL FROM THE COURT BEFORE YOU CAN TAKE THE DRIVING SAFETY COURSE.

  • Deferred Disposition

    For most offenses, you may request deferred disposition to keep it from appearing on your driving record.  Deferred disposition is ninety (90) day probation for you not to receive another similar offense during your deferral period. Depending on the offense, the Judge may require additional time and conditions.  Request for deferred may be made by mail, in person or before the Judge.

     

    Eligibility

    To be eligible for deferred disposition you:

    ·         Must not be charged with a traffic violation committed in a construction zone with workers present

    ·         Must not have successfully completed a deferred disposition of a similar charge in the past 12 months

    ·         Must not have a commercial driver’s license

    ·         Must not be charged with speeding in excess of 24 mph over the posted speed limit

     

    Request for Deferred Disposition

    To request this option your request must be received or postmarked by the appearance date on your citation.  At the time of your request you must:

    ·         Enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere

    ·         Present a copy of a valid driver’s license

    ·         Pay an expense fee and court costs (contact court for amount)

     

    If you are eligible and meet all the requirements, at the end of your deferred period, your citation will be dismissed.

     

    Failure to Comply

    If you fail to comply with the conditions or requirements, you will have to appear at a Show Cause Hearing before a Municipal Court Judge to explain why you have failed to comply.

     If you do not appear for the Show Cause Hearing, a Capias Pro Fine Warrant may be issued for your arrest, and a conviction of the offense charged will be on your record plus additional fees.

     

  • Dismissal of Certain Offenses

    Some offenses may be dismissed upon proof of compliance and payment of dismissal fee.  All fees are subject to change.  Those offenses that may qualify include:

    • No Liability Insurance (FMFR): present proof of liability insurance policy that was valid on the vehicle being driving on the date and time of the offense.  Insurance will be verified by the court prior to dismissal. No dismissal fee due.
    • Failure to present Driver’s License: present to the court a driver’s license that was valid on the date and time of the offense and pay a $10 dismissal fee.
    • Fail to Change Address on Driver’s License: must present to the court within twenty (20) working days from the date of offense proof that you remedied the defect and pay a $20 fee.
    • Expired Driver’s License: must present to the court within twenty (20) working days from the date of offense proof that you remedied the defect and pay a $20 fee.
    • Expired Registration: present to the court within twenty (20) working days of the offense proof that the registration has been renewed and the penalty paid to the registrar and pay a $20 dismissal fee to the court.
    • Deferred Disposition is available to dismiss most offenses.  See the Deferred Disposition tab for instructions or you may contact the court.
    • Defensive Driving Course may be used to dismiss on moving traffic offense.  See the Driving Safety tab for instructions or you may contact the court.
  • Warrants

     Warrants

    The City of Hutchins Municipal Court issues two different types of warrants.

     

    Alias Warrant

    An Alias Warrant will be issued, along with an additional charge of Violate Promise to Appear and/or Failure to Appear, when you fail to make a plea on your citation by the due date (appearance date at the top of your citation). 

     

    Resolving an Alias Warrant

    Your warrant will be cleared if you:

    ·         Plead “no contest” or guilty to the charge(s) and pay the fine or,

    ·         Post a bond in the total amount due and obtain a court date or,

    ·         Contact the court for information on setting up a Time Payment Plan by paying half the total amount or,

    ·         Retaining an attorney to post bond and represent you.

     

    Capias Pro Fine Warrant

    A Capias Pro Fine Warrant is issued when you fail to comply with an Order from a Judge, not completing a payment plan or failing to make payments as promised.

     

    Resolving a Capias Pro Fine Warrant

    Your warrant will be cleared if you:

    ·         Pay the full amount due.  NO CHECKS OR PARTIAL PAYMENT. or

    ·         Turn yourself in to sit out the fine.

     

    Payments can be made by mail, in person, online or over the telephone.      

     

    By mail:            Mail a Money Order payable to City of Hutchins, to

    P.O. Box 500, Hutchins, TX 75141

     

    In person:         Bring Money Order, Cash, Visa or Master Card (3% fee) to

    321 N. Main St., Hutchins, TX 75141

     

    On line: www.trafficpayment.com

     

    By Phone:         1-800-444-1187

     

     

    If your case(s) HAS been reported to collections please contact them at:

     

    McCreary, Veslka, Bragg, & Allen (MVBA)

    1-866-955-5455 or online www.paymvba.com

  • FAQs

    What is the fine amount of my ticket?

    Click here for top 25 fine list. If your violation is not on the list you will need to contact the court during business hours.

    What are my options?

    To pay your citation online click here. Online and telephone payments constitute a plea of no contest and are entered as a guilty judgment. The judgment is reported to DPS as a conviction on your driving record.

    If eligible, there are two options available if you want to keep the offense off of your driving record. We offer the options of deferred disposition or taking a driving safety class.

    When is my court date?

    You are not automatically given a court date when you receive a citation. You are given an appearance date meaning that you must appear either in person or by mail within 21 days of receiving your citation. The date is located at the top of your citation. The state of Texas has special requirements for juvenile defendants that can be found in the Juveniles section.

    Calling the court does not constitute an appearance.

    Can I get an extension over the phone?

    No. A request for extension must be made in person or by mail

Report an Issue

Describe the issue(*)
Please Verify describe the issue field.

Name(*)
Please Verify Name.

Telephone Number
Please Verify Telephone Number.

Location
Please Verify The Location Field.

Email(*)
Please Verify The Email Address Field.

Captcha goes here(*)
Captcha goes here
  RefreshPlease Verify The Captcha Code.

RSForm! Pro example

This text describes the form. It is added using the Free Text component. HTML code can be added directly here.

Full Name(*)
Please type your full name.

E-mail(*)
Invalid email address.

Number of Employees(*)
Please tell us how big is your company.

Position(*)
Please specify your position in the company

How should we contact you?

When would you like to be contacted?(*)
Please select a date when we should contact you.

  

(*)
Invalid Input